Mortality

I haven’t been drinking much in the last two years. It was actually part of the draw towards America for me. I figured America had less of an emphasis on drink for socializing and it’s true they do. Well, I drank last night and I’m not feeling the best today. When I first started drinking, I could drink crazy amounts and be perfectly fine the next day, not any more. When I was in school, I was not fit for education. It was the worst possible time for me to try and learn, particularly as a teenager in Secondary School, you start noticing girls, your brain is going crazy looking at the girl on the other side of the room. How could any guy focus on stupid fuckin’ probability questions?

When I got to College, My mind was much more focused, everything started to click and I was much more capable of learning. In recent years I’ve become even more adept at learning and retaining information. But I’ve been noticing in the last 2 years that I’m struggling to multi-task. I’m really struggling to remember things in the short term. I’ll forget about bills that are due, twice in the last few years I’ve forgotten the pin number for my Credit Card, something I use almost every day. Lately, I can drive to a restaurant or shop. Come out an hour later and have no idea how to go back the way I came from.

When I get out of the car or out of bed in the morning. All of my muscles feel stiff, not particularly sore but tight, I’m slow to move, I’m not hunched over but I feel like I am. Lately I’ve been thinking about having the oul’ wife and kids, thinking about the fact I’ve feeling like I’m already slowing down and I’m only 28. Kids require energy, if I’m bound to get worse than this, I need to get my ass moving on the kid front, sooner rather than later. Well that’s it. Had these thoughts and I have a blog, so there ya have it.

Rory

About thecityfathers

We sit around all day stroking our beards, clucking our tongues and discussing what's to be done with this Homer Simpson
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

