Cynicists Movie Review: Gravity

It’s been a while since I went out to watch a movie. But for this one I had heard that this is the one, this is revolutionary, this is the first movie which makes proper use of 3D. People had even told me that the 3D is used properly and doesn’t make you feel sick, well that was a lie. It still made me feel sick, probably even worse considering the entire movie was a barrel rolling camera. So was it revolutionary, well the visuals were amazing, probably the most advanced CGI that I have ever seen. I haven’t seen the movie in regular digital format, just 3D but I did find it pretty immersive, it did kind of suck you in and make you feel like you’re right there with them. It may have been due to the 3D, but I think I would have preferred to see it in 2D.

As for the storyline..pretty fuckin’ stupid and lame. I won’t give any spoilers but the fact Sandra Bullocks hair didn’t stick up even a little was confusing. Her character was a Doctor and according to the dialogue she only really had 6 months of training, yet she was the technical hand on the mission, does that make any sense? They also committed that sin which I hate…Clooneys character started asking Bullocks character about her training, about her home life etc. Astronauts aren’t just lumped together, they would know each other surely? It was another insult to the viewers, they wanted us to know their back stories to somehow form some compassion and liking for them. Meh, fuck off! Oh and I hate the subtle religious\faith type bullshit.

So, the movie was good, the visuals were amazing and was enough for me to still enjoy the movie despite the crap mentioned in the last paragraph.

screen-shot-2013-07-10-at-10-22-38-pm

About thecityfathers

We sit around all day stroking our beards, clucking our tongues and discussing what's to be done with this Homer Simpson
This entry was posted in Cynicists Movie Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

