Travelling for work is bollocks

As you read this blog today, I am sitting in a hotel room in Rhode Island. I am not here on holiday, it is not really by choice but out of necessity. The Great Plague has befallen me once again, that is the plague of having to travel for work. I have not had to travel for work for about a year and a half now. It has been something I have never enjoyed and being 5 days into this trip, I can safely say I still do not enjoy it.

Knowing the way that people I know think, I assume some reading this right now are probably thinking, boohoo he doesn’t like traveling for work, I would love to get to travel for work, I don’t even have a job, he should be grateful just to have work…. And on, and on, and on…

What a lot of people who don’t travel for work do not realize is you tend to give up your personal time to go to the airport early so you make your flight, you travel on a weekend to get there for Monday, your evenings are spent working to catch up on your day to day work that you missed Whilst in meetings, you don’t get to do whatever you want, you spend your nights in a hotel room. It doesn’t help that every company I have traveled for work with, has had a pretty lousy traveling expenses arrangement and more often than not I have been left out of pocket.

I have heard professional wrestlers and comedians talking about being on the road for their work and describing it as being a transient person only without having to sleep rough for the night. You go crazy trying to pass the time, you have nothing to do, if you do get some time after work is completed, you tend to just walk around by the hotel or go to dinner, traveling around to see the sights is usually not on the cards as you finish work after 6pm and by time you shower and catch up with your other shit, its too late , its why so many comedians and wrestlers say they get into get into gambling and have drug addictions. Boredom and Loneliness when on the road.

This cloud does have a silver lining though. This week I’m on the east coast of America, which means there is only a 5 hour time difference between me and everybody else in Ireland. I got to see the news about Alex Ferguson as it broke and interact with friends online. It makes me think about moving home or possibly to the East coast, I’m feeling like I am drifting apart and losing myself a little.

Sorry for the boring blog post, I figured I would just type what was on my mind. I have been pretty busy for the last year and my mind has been pretty preoccupied, but I thought a blog post was well over due. Hopefully the next one will be back to either being funny or violently opinionated to alienate some more you motherfuckers

About thecityfathers

We sit around all day stroking our beards, clucking our tongues and discussing what's to be done with this Homer Simpson
This entry was posted in Are you serious Bro?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

