A Cynicists Movie Reivew: The Dark Knight Rises

I’m not going to talk about the story line even though from reading other reviews that seems to be the done thing. I don’t want to ruin the movie for anyone either so if you haven’t seen it yet and want to no matter what my review says then I would not read this review, not because it contains spoilers but because I don’t want people to go into the movie looking out for what I’m talking about.

OK with all that shit out of the way. I really liked Batman Begins and I loved the Dark Knight movie. I wanted to like this movie too. However it fell short in my eyes. It did not have the edge of the first two. This wasn’t helped by the lame one liners that appeared through most of the movie. Anne Hathaway sucked it up in the movie and the acting from everyone just didn’t seem as compelling in this one. Even Gary Oldman who is one the best actors going today didn’t seem to be his normal excellent self. I also like Joseph Gordon-Levitt as an actor but it seemed like his facial expressions were very far from natural for him…but then of course the voice they have Batman use is pretty far removed from Christian Bales… The storyline was ok, some of it was very good but maybe the movie was too long and there was bound to be disappointing parts. Dark Night Rises broke a golden rule for me in that it tried too hard to explain things to the audience and was too obvious in setting things up for the end of the movie. If you read my Avatar review you’ll get where I’m coming from with this.

Some of the special effects were pretty crappy. Also somebody who is going to see the movie might be able to confirm this for me but there’s a scene in which Joseph Gordon-Levitts character asks a guy for his phone and it seems like he takes his car, the guy was driving an SUV as far as I could tell in the next scene we see him driving a VW station wagon…odd that such an obvious error could be made in a movie that took a long time to make. As a whole, I was disappointed by the movie BUT it’s still better than most shit that’s pumped out today. Enjoy Fuckers!

About thecityfathers

We sit around all day stroking our beards, clucking our tongues and discussing what's to be done with this Homer Simpson
This entry was posted in Cynicists Movie Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cynicists Movie Reivew: The Dark Knight Rises

  1. Max says:

    I’m very sad about this but i have to agree with you budy and i realy wanted this film to be great. And my god was Anne Hathaways portrayel ridiculous remember how much you wanted Heath Ledger back on screen in The Dark Knight well in this you want Hathaway just as much of screen and her side kick i just wanted Bane to snap her neck. And one of my favorite caracters is here just reduced to a plottwist

    • I agree with ya! I was never a Heath Ledger fan probably because he played such soft roles but he kicked the shit out of The Dark Knight. Captivating to watch. Ann Hathaway should be shot with a ball of her shite. Pretty girl but just no good in the role

Leave a Reply

