James Nolan

I posted a blog entry concerning the Ireland team a few days ago. In it I showed the great moments the Irish team have had in previous tournaments and I took the piss out of the showing at Euro 2012.

Tonight the body of James Nolan (a missing Ireland fan in Poland) was found in a river. I cannot in good conscience have the Ireland post still on this site without addressing this horrifically sad story. I feel awful for both him and his family and my petty little complaints about a football team really show that some things are more important. Life goes on for the rest of us but not the Nolan family.

I considered taking down the post but that was a separate point that needed to be made. I feel that having that petty post on here without addressing this news and offering some balance is unfair to life itself and I am genuinely wounded to hear that a 21 year old kid is coming home in a coffin when he was there to go on the beer and enjoy a few football games.

I had to post this. I cringe reading the Ireland post after hearing this news and I feel like an idiot for posting such a comparably meaningless thing while this guy was still missing. Sleep well sir.

Steve

About thecityfathers

We sit around all day stroking our beards, clucking our tongues and discussing what's to be done with this Homer Simpson
This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

